What does it mean when they say Feren OS is a rolling distribution?

Della

Reaction score
Credits
I am a noob linux user, on Feren OS. This is how my update script looks like (which runs as an anacron job with root privilege once in a while, and all other automatic updates from the GUI are turned off).

apt-get --assume-yes --fix-missing update
apt-get --assume-yes upgrade
apt-get --assume-yes --fix-broken install
apt-get --assume-yes dist-upgrade
apt-get --assume-yes full-upgrade
apt-get --assume-yes autoremove --purge
apt-get --assume-yes clean

So my questions are
  • Does this script have all the components that would be present in updating via the GUI update manager?
  • Will this update roll forever without me having to reinstall any distribution, just like Manjaro? When I installed Feren OS from ISO, the OS had a codename Gallium, but now the codename reads Hassium. Which exact line of the above script is responsible for the Gallium to Hassium upgrade?
  • Even when Ubuntu releases its new 22.04, then I assume there will be newer Feren OS ISOs based on that? Will my script upgrade to those versions (with associated upgrades of kernel, window manager etc.), keeping all other applications intact, without me having to install from the ISO?
  • Finally, I am not using the GUI update manager because I feel updating via the above script gives me somewhat finer control over the procedure, but is there anything in the above script that would compromise the security and stability of the system?

I don't use Feren, and I'm not really familiar with it, but...
A rolling release means software versions, kernel versions, and even distro release versions can
change continuously. Usually you never have to re-install from scratch. I have been doing this
for about 7 years now. Usually this is fairly stable, but back-ups are always recommended.

Stable release versions, generally keep the same major software versions, kernel versions and release version.