Which file system is most common for a linux server?

Slatts

Reaction score
Credits
exFAT
NTFS
FAT
Ext2fs

I can't find any information regarding this topic and these choices, help is appreciated, thank you.

Hello Slatts,
Welcome to the Forum.
I have no direct knowledge or statistical info on which file system is used in many linux servers. But I would presume that none of those listed would be the primary ones. Ext4 has for a long time been the standard of most Linux systems. But BTRFS and ZFS are making inroads and are being used more and more. Those file systems you listed of Windows/ Dos file systems and would most likely not be the first choice of those using Linux servers. If your not familar with the Linux files system I mentioned here is a brief description of each. In order to get more accurate info you will need to qualify what type of server your talking about.
and this one may also be helpful.

I don't see XFS listed here.
I would say ext4 was for a long time.
XFS is probably currently. We currently run BTRFS where I work on "most" systems.

I don't see XFS listed here.
I would say ext4 was for a long time.
XFS is probably currently. We currently run BTRFS where I work on "most" systems.
forgot about XFS :)

Redhat RHEL web site has this to say about file systems, I would presume any who use that in their server stack would use one that is suggested there: