Why Linux users are insistent on Microsoft Office?

SpongebobFan1994

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 10, 2021
Messages
531
Reaction score
274
Credits
5,091
Writer: 7 included templates.
Impress: 23 included templates.

I'm not sure what kinda templates you'd want for the other LibreOffice apps. Math comes with examples, Draw comes with predefined shapes, and Calc comes with a ton of built-in functions to manipulate data.

But, first and foremost, I'm not sure why you'd make up a claim like that? It doesn't benefit you, us, or anything.

After clicking on the down arrow next to the "new" button, I wasn't aware until just now that there is a template window. Had I known it was tucked away in there, I wouldn't have made that false claim earlier. I'm guessing I'm so used to MO where if you click on a program, it immediately shows you all of the templates available, and you just click on the one you want. I honestly don't know why LO didn't do the same thing, because it would've made it more accessable.
 


D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
While I'm not a huge LibreOffice user (or any Office user for that matter), I think one of the problems is Windows dominates the desktop market, and because most of the population is so used to running it, as well as the software for it, schools and other institutions don't want to change what's become so commonplace.
Most users and institutions as schools aren't willing to learn a new OS.

I believe Dell and Microsoft also offer excellent rebates and price breaks for schools.

My kids school uses Windows 10 laptops to interact with teachers since the Covid pandemic.

There have been times where I'd save a LO Writer document to a flash drive or external hard drive, then bring it up at the library where they're running MO, and not once have I experienced compatibility issues.
I have had some issues with LibreOffice compatibility and Microsoft Office compatibility although I believe the newer versions of LibreOffice have addressed most of those issues.
 
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
Open Writer or Calc, go to Tools Menu, select Options, expand the LibreOffice field on the left (if it isn't already expanded), and click on Online Update. From there, you can uncheck the box to "Check for updates automatically."
I've done that and that option "Online Update" unfortunately doesn't exist on my LibreOffice.

LibreOffice
Version: 6.4.6.2
Build ID: 1:6.4.6-0ubuntu0.20.04.1
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
6,637
Reaction score
5,401
Credits
19,728
Re Nelson's above

Nor mine and I am using 7.0.4.2

What version are you running, @stan ?

Wizard
 

stan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2018
Messages
985
Reaction score
1,105
Credits
9,112
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
Online Update must be a new feature they've added to the newer LibreOffice versions.
 

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758
Wow, seems weird that is such a "new" feature. Sorry for the confusion!
Online Update must be a new feature they've added to the newer LibreOffice versions.
It isn't. You need to launch startcenter. I have it here in LO 6.4.7
Although, I use LO appimage and have this and latest one too, not sure whether that makes a difference.

ksnip_20210330-090909.png
 
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
It isn't. You need to launch startcenter. I have it here in LO 6.4.7
Although, I use LO appimage and have this and latest one too, not sure whether that makes a difference.

View attachment 8873
I ain't got start center either.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2021-03-30_08-35-18.png
    Screenshot_2021-03-30_08-35-18.png
    111.4 KB · Views: 123

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758
Online Update must be a new feature they've added to the newer LibreOffice versions.
I took a second look at your screenshot, and you're right. The online update option should be right under advanced, but it's not. I just did a quick search and found out that the reason is your LO package is managed by your distro, not by LO itself, so it gets updated when you update your system. Read here https://ask.libreoffice.org/en/question/260243/missing-online-update-module-lo-64/
I quote
It's not applicable to distro repository distributed versions. Such versions are not installed/updated by LibreOffice itself: they are packages created and maintained by the packet maintainers, and updated automatically by the distro machinery.
So @stan is either using LO appimage as I do, or he installed it by downloading the pkg from here https://www.libreoffice.org/download/download/ in both cases LO won't be updated with the system as in when running sudo apt update or whatever pkg manager his distro happens to use. If you want that module/option, you need to use one of those; appimage or download and install manually.
 
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
I just did a quick search and found out that the reason is your LO package is managed by your distro, not by LO itself, so it gets updated when you update your system. https://ask.libreoffice.org/en/question/260243/missing-online-update-module-lo-64/
The disto being used is Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce so I guess the above being the case must be a bug somewhere.

I keep getting update reminders from LibreOffice that a newer version of LibreOffice is available.

I can live with this annoyance as I live with other annoyances with other Linux distros because no Linux distro is perfect no matter which Linux distro it is all Linux distros have flaws.

I mean come on it's free and ya can't really complain about something that's free even though some users will and I to have been guilty of doing so.
 

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758
The disto being used is Linux Mint 20.1 Xfce so I guess the above being the case must be a bug somewhere.
It's not a bug, it's a distro thing. You might try this:
1. Launch LO, click on Tools > Options
2. Select Adavanced from the menu and click on expert settings

expert.png


3. Locate the update string and click on edit to change from true to false

update-true.png


update-false.png



4. Click on Ok to save your changes then click apply > Ok in the options window. Relaunch LO, hopefully, you shouldn't see the update pop up window this time. It worked for me here :)

I mean come on it's free and ya can't really complain about something that's free even though some users will and I to have been guilty of doing so.

Well, you should, just don't think of it as a "complaint" but rather like a contribution you're doing to further improve a "free" product you already use. If no one "complaints", bugs/failures will remain for who knows how long! So, do "complaint"!
 
Last edited:

stan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2018
Messages
985
Reaction score
1,105
Credits
9,112
@Tolkem is correct... I do not use the distro supplied copy of LibreOffice (or the AppImage). I download direct from LibreOffice.org when I am notified of updates and install the .deb packages. I use Calc daily, and I prefer to have the latest LO, though honestly there are probably few changes that would affect my usage.

It seems strange (to me) that the distro supplied version would even notify of updates. I don't remember that when I did use that version. I think their updates just came in silently with all system updates. But things change... distros, LO, etc... and my memory isn't what it used to be. ;)
 
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
It's not a bug, it's a distro thing. You might try this:
1. Launch LO, click on Tools > Options
2. Select Adavanced from the menu and click on expert settings

View attachment 8875


3. Locate the update string and click on edit to change from true to false

View attachment 8878

View attachment 8879


4. Click on Ok to save your changes then click apply > Ok in the options window. Relaunch LO, hopefully, you shouldn't see the update pop up window this time. It worked for me here :)



Well, you should, just don't think of it as a "complaint" but rather like a contribution you're doing to further improve a "free" product you already use. If no one "complaints", bugs/failures will remain for who knows how long! So, do "complaint"!
One of the problems I have with this damn Linux Mint 20.1 is the proper window sizing and believe me I've tried everything and no joy.

As you can see I have no menu buttons available at the bottom nor anywhere else to make any changes.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_2021-03-30_12-15-12.png
    Screenshot_2021-03-30_12-15-12.png
    118.1 KB · Views: 133

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758
As you can see I have no menu buttons available at the bottom nor anywhere else to make any changes.
Try resizing the window; make it smaller or go full screen, or hide the panel momentarily, the buttons are there, they're ... behind? ... the panel. I see them in your screenshot. It's not the distro but the DE window management, I too have sometimes this problem with some windows in KDE, resizing the window usually works, but sometimes I have to momentarily hide the panel, so I can click the save, close, ok, cancel or any other button.
 
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
Try resizing the window; make it smaller or go full screen, or hide the panel momentarily, the buttons are there, they're ... behind? ... the panel. I see them in your screenshot. It's not the distro but the DE window management, I too have sometimes this problem with some windows in KDE, resizing the window usually works, but sometimes I have to momentarily hide the panel, so I can click the save, close, ok, cancel or any other button.
Tried all of that and no joy.

That's why I said what I said about Linux Mint in this thread post #22.

"I can't say that Linux Mint is just as buggy as Windows however it ain't the great distro that everyone everywhere claims it to be."


I don't use office much and if LibreOffice can't do what I need I just log into my Microsoft account and use the free version of Office 365 without any worries or cares.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758
ksnip_20210330-134334.png

As you can see, in the img above, buttons are hidden, I had to go full screen, change the language from English to Spanish and click save.

ksnip_20210330-134749.png


So it's not a distro thing but some window mismanagement or something of that sort; it is either the WM which can't get the proper dimensions because of some "miscoding" or the app have those messed up thus making the WM confused about the proper size to use for displaying the windows. By the way, in case you wonder the app in the screenshot is zettlr, a markdown editor https://www.zettlr.com/
 
D

Deleted member 101831

Guest
View attachment 8881
As you can see, in the img above, buttons are hidden, I had to go full screen, change the language from English to Spanish and click save.
When I try to maximize or minimize the size of windows nothing happens.
Linux Mint 20.1 isn't a dailey driver I was giving it a run to see why everyone seems to think Linux Mint is the greatest Linux distro of the Linux world.

View attachment 8882

So it's not a distro thing but some window mismanagement or something of that sort; it is either the WM which can't get the proper dimensions because of some "miscoding" or the app have those messed up thus making the WM confused about the proper size to use for displaying the windows. By the way, in case you wonder the app in the screenshot is zettlr, a markdown editor https://www.zettlr.com/
I agree it's a WM issue that needs tweaking just ain't got around to it yet but will.
 

Tolkem

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2019
Messages
1,255
Reaction score
1,023
Credits
8,758
When I try to maximize or minimize the size of windows nothing happens.
Launch any LO instance; writer, calc ... click on view > full screen or hit Ctrl + Shift + j, once in full screen mode, click on tools > options > advanced > expert settings and do the changes you need to.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!


Top