Wifi adaptator not found MediaTek Wi-Fi 6 MT7921 Wireless LAN Card

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
Hi everyone,

My username is clemento, I'm french and I'm new on this forum. I decided to log in because I've switched to GNU/Linux (Ubuntu distro) to learn more about linux.
Excuse me if my english isn't perfect...

I've installed Ubuntu on my ASUS TUF Gaming F15 FX506LH_TUF506LH in dual-boot with Windows 10.
I have a problem, "Wifi adaptator not found", same for bluetooth...
So I decided to create an account to ask the community how can I solve this problem. I've read many forums and haven't found the solution to my problem...

I'm not at home currently so i don't have an ethernet connection but I can try your solutions with wifi on VirtualBox (because wifi is detected like ethernet connection)
I pray for someone who can help me,

Sincerely.
Clemento
 


brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,251
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,440
Welcome to the forum
If you can what we need you to do in ubuntu, open a terminal type in inxi -N [inxispace-N]
and copy/paste the result back here

Bwiz
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,251
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,440

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
485
Reaction score
438
Credits
3,415
Hello Clemento,
Welcome to the Forum.
You should be able to get the wifi card going by following the instructions on this page.
According the specs for you machine you have and Intel AX200 wifi/bluetooth card in that machine.
Also you should make sure secure boot is turned off and you may have to have blue tooth off to get wifi working.
Good luck.
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,251
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,440
According the specs for you machine you have and Intel AX200
the latest spec....
Networking
Realtek RTL8168/8111 Gigabit-LAN (10/100/1000/2500/5000MBit/s),
MediaTek MT7921 (a/b/g/n = Wi-Fi 4/ac = Wi-Fi 5/ax = Wi-Fi 6), Bluetooth 5.1
 
OP
C

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
here it is :
1637070334937.png
 
OP
C

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
Hello Clemento,
Welcome to the Forum.
You should be able to get the wifi card going by following the instructions on this page.
According the specs for you machine you have and Intel AX200 wifi/bluetooth card in that machine.
Also you should make sure secure boot is turned off and you may have to have blue tooth off to get wifi working.
Good luck.
I tried it, it doesn't works...
 

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,251
Reaction score
957
Credits
9,440
Well that report is showing the driver is installed and is the earlier Intel wi-fi , not media teck, [unless its been miss recognised]
open the network control [one of the icons usualy bottom right of task bar] and check if wireless is enabled there
 

stan

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2018
Messages
974
Reaction score
1,104
Credits
9,041
Well that report is showing the driver is installed and is the earlier Intel wi-fi , not media teck, [unless its been miss recognised]
I think you're onto the problem. The screenshot in post #6 shows he has a "network bridge"... not a wireless adapter. The built-in adapter may be dead, or removed.

Is wireless working in Windows 10?

Which version of Ubuntu are you using?
 
OP
C

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
I think you're onto the problem. The screenshot in post #6 shows he has a "network bridge"... not a wireless adapter. The built-in adapter may be dead, or removed.

Is wireless working in Windows 10?

Which version of Ubuntu are you using?
Yes, on Windows it works.
I'm using Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (some people say that upgrading to an newer kernel may solve the problem but I've upgraded Ubuntu to 21.10 and kernel to 5.15.2 and wireless adaptator still not found...)
 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
995
Reaction score
646
Credits
7,378
What do I do with it ?
I copy-paste it in the Terminal ??
(I've tried to copy-paste but it doesn't works)
First have a look in this folder - /lib/firmware/mediatek/ and see if you have the following 3 files in there - BT_RAM_CODE_MT7961_1_2_hdr.bin - WIFI_MT7961_patch_mcu_1_2_hdr.bin - and - WIFI_RAM_CODE_MT7961_1.bin

If you have those 3 files you have the firmware you won't have to download it - if not you will need to download it - this is how

Have to use your browser not terminal - it's a website

If you look at the top of the webpage I sent you will see "commit" is highlighted click on "tree" next to it just left - then scroll down until you see "mediatek" it will be blue color click on mediatek it will open to the mediatek tree click that or you can go here - https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linu...k?id=948cad200e94d82d339207f8ac7b10f932bd627a all the Mediatek firmware is listed there find those three files

this is the first one -BT_RAM_CODE_MT7961_1_2_hdr.bin listed it is second in line from the top
Once there - look for this - blob: 54b5981889bc0d6e46c509836025349f27010e37 (plain)
click on plain and save the bin file - do that for the other two once you have all 3 you have to put them in the /lib/firmware/mediatek folder which must be done in root
 
OP
C

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
First have a look in this folder - /lib/firmware/mediatek/ and see if you have the following 3 files in there - BT_RAM_CODE_MT7961_1_2_hdr.bin - WIFI_MT7961_patch_mcu_1_2_hdr.bin - and - WIFI_RAM_CODE_MT7961_1.bin

If you have those 3 files you have the firmware you won't have to download it - if not you will need to download it - this is how

Have to use your browser not terminal - it's a website

If you look at the top of the webpage I sent you will see "commit" is highlighted click on "tree" next to it just left - then scroll down until you see "mediatek" it will be blue color click on mediatek it will open to the mediatek tree click that or you can go here - https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linu...k?id=948cad200e94d82d339207f8ac7b10f932bd627a all the Mediatek firmware is listed there find those three files

this is the first one -BT_RAM_CODE_MT7961_1_2_hdr.bin listed it is second in line from the top
Once there - look for this - blob: 54b5981889bc0d6e46c509836025349f27010e37 (plain)
click on plain and save the bin file - do that for the other two once you have all 3 you have to put them in the /lib/firmware/mediatek folder which must be done in root
I checked the /lib repository and I have those 3 files in so I don't need to download them but wifi and bluetooth still not work what do I do now ?
 

Linuxembourg

Active Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2021
Messages
175
Reaction score
137
Credits
1,429
Have you got secure boot turned off and have you turned off fastboot in Windows10?

 

Lord Boltar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2020
Messages
995
Reaction score
646
Credits
7,378
I did see in Ubuntu forum were people who have this card got it working by installing kernel 5.15
 
OP
C

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
OP
C

clementolinux

New Member
Joined
Nov 9, 2021
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Credits
67
I did see in Ubuntu forum were people who have this card got it working by installing kernel 5.15
I will try to upgrade kernel !
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Members online

No members online now.

Top