WLAN0 not showing in linux on my hp 250 g6 laptop

pajdani

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Credits
46
I was installed linux in virtual machine(Vm Workstation).I wanted to testing networks but i think my network card is not working .I dont know what to do.
Please somebody help..


When i type this:
# ifconfig:
eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 192.168.88.128 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.88.255
inet6 fe80::20c:29ff:fee5:19fb prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
ether 00:0c:29:e5:19:fb txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 37103 bytes 27464245 (26.1 MiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 7591 bytes 1163597 (1.1 MiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 8 bytes 400 (400.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 8 bytes 400 (400.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0
# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.
 


brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,202
Reaction score
920
Credits
8,990
Welcome..
which distribution of Linux have you installed?
 
OP
P

pajdani

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Credits
46

Attachments

  • Get Kali _ Kali Linux - Google Chrome 2021. 08. 17. 19_31_41.png
    Get Kali _ Kali Linux - Google Chrome 2021. 08. 17. 19_31_41.png
    213.7 KB · Views: 70

brickwizard

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2021
Messages
1,202
Reaction score
920
Credits
8,990
please bare with us we have a few Kali users who will no doubt be along but our members a spread across the world and time zones
 

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,531
Reaction score
1,672
Credits
15,089
does the host machine have network problems ? Does the virtual have a firewall installed ?
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Does your laptop have two wireless adapters? Since you are using vmware worktation it's probably using a virtual network interface which most likely uses NAT which translate to an ethernet device in your virtual system. You need a secondary wireless adapter in order to assign that your virtual system because a wireless adapter can't be dedicated to a virtual system when it's in use by the host.
 
Last edited:
OP
P

pajdani

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Credits
46
Does your laptop have two wireless adapters? Since you are using vmware worktation it's probably using a virtual network interface which most likely uses NAT which translate to an ethernet device in your virtual system. You need a secondary wireless adapter in order to assign that your virtual system because a wireless adapter can't be dedicated to a virtual system when it's in use by the host.
I have added a tl-wr802n usb wifi adapter and a normal what i using
See the atachment files
 

Attachments

  • Network Connections 2021. 08. 17. 20_58_21.png
    Network Connections 2021. 08. 17. 20_58_21.png
    54.2 KB · Views: 74
  • Settings 2021. 08. 17. 20_55_10.png
    Settings 2021. 08. 17. 20_55_10.png
    356.5 KB · Views: 73
  • Wi-Fi Status 2021. 08. 17. 20_58_29.png
    Wi-Fi Status 2021. 08. 17. 20_58_29.png
    16.4 KB · Views: 73
  • informations about my laptop.txt
    5.4 KB · Views: 64

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
3,860
Reaction score
2,611
Credits
27,911
Since you have a secondary wireless usb-adapter you have to assign that to your vm within vmware workstation, no idea how that is done because I have never used vmware workstation and I don't have enough Windows knowledge to help you with the Windows stuff.
 
OP
P

pajdani

New Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2021
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Credits
46
Since you have a secondary wireless usb-adapter you have to assign that to your vm within vmware workstation, no idea how that is done because I have never used vmware workstation and I don't have enough Windows knowledge to help you with the Windows stuff.
maybe i would be download another virtualmachine?
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!


Top