Storing info from plain text

truckerDave

Reaction score
Credits
Hello. I'm currently building a new PC and will be using Linux on it. As well, as converting 2 windows machines to Linux.

I've had limited experience with Linux (currently running Ubuntu on my old laptop) but am unsure what direction to go. That said, I also have some programming experience with html, Javascript, php and mysql databases.

As an owner operator, I receive what's called a settlement for every load I deliver. It comes via email in plain text with each item labeled the same in each text file. I'd like to be able to copy and paste that plain text into a form and click a button to populate a database, spreadsheet or something similar that is, preferably, searchable.

Currently, I have to enter all the info in by hand (about 30 or so entries per settlement) into a php form that enters it into a mysql database. This takes a lot of time when I may spend 3 or 4 weeks on the road and come home to 20+ settlements.

You may ask, how is this a Linux question? Fair enough. The path I choose will determine which Linux build (is that the correct term?) I go with. If doing a php page and database, I would assume, from lack of knowledge, that one machine will have to be set up as a local server. Or maybe another, easier route, wouldn't require a server at all???

Hopefully, I made all that clear enough. If not, let me know what other info might be helpful.

Thanks!
Dave

G'day Dave, Welcome to Linux.org
Distro!!

Not build. I'll try to remember that.
Consider your self forgiven !!...we are not known to be pedantic over minute detail here, mate.

I will watch this thread with interest. Because members are scattered all over the globe, timezones etc play a big part.