Kali Linux wifi problems from HP laptop original OS Vista

xthexxdudex

Reaction score
Credits
heya! I'm new to linux, and I hpe nobody else has to deal with the hours of slamming my head against several forum walls looking for what the issue was with my wifi. so Ilook up how to turn on wifi (or something similar) and I read that i need to right click on the network connection indicator (looks like an ethernet jack) then select enable wifi well the issue is that was not working. I also tried some of the nm(nmtui, nmcli) commands from the terminal i also did the iwlist stuff but none of it worked. so I look more into it and discover a forum post from 2015 which linked to https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Broadcom_wireless#broadcom-wl read into that a bit I found that you could discover the device id and "chipset name" of my "Broadcom wireless network device" (I'm not sure exactly what that is beyond the fact that it had to have been the hardware that was disabled from the radio menu in the nmtui ...ui) so to find out what I had i needed to run the following:
"lspci -vnn -d 14e4:"

just using the command lspci gave me a bit of a messy terminal ( the rest of the command/whatever must've filtered out most of it) and i could not understand what any of it was or what it had to do with wifi, (just typing up my experience to give anybody else that goes to google looking for help because they want to run linux like the f****ng flintstones intended, on a dinosaur)
so i typed the above command into the terminal. which (for me) returned (among another three or four lines)
"02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)"

so now I looked for anything in the wiki that had any of the same words/combination of numbers, "brcm" was all over the place, so I am headed the right direction! later in the text I find that firmware-b43legacy should be used for BCM4312 "jackpot!" i do a bit of a Rick Astley dance as I type in: