Suggestions for an old (2001)

Zara Spook

Reaction score
Credits
Hi, I am somewhat new to Linux, but I do have Mint running on two laptops and I am interested in running Linux on a couple of old old desktops.

The oldest is:
AMD486-40 with 20Mb RAM and 325&407Mb HD
I've looked at various distros and can't seem to see one I think would work. All I really want to do with it is use as a backup for files, so file management, and perhaps play mp3 & Mov files. It doesn't need a browser, in fact cannot . it has a 1.2M floppy and a CD-ROM, no USB. Currently runs Windows NT(!)(because it has uSoft Office) and DOS.
Is there an old version of DSL?
SliTaz?

I also have a newer desktop a little more robust:
AMD 486 1GHz 64 bit
512MB RAM
30 &130Gb HD
offline, but does have CD/DVD & USB

would be nice to have Libre Office, play MP3's,

Welcome to the Forum.
m0135.gif

Many people say you can run some Distros on computers with very low specs...maybe that's true...but it all boils down to what are you happy with. The better the specs...the better the system will preform and the more you can multi-task. By all means try some of the lite weight Distros...I've run some in Virtualbox but I've always given them plenty of space and Ram for them to run comfortably.

System Requirements are a joke...take Linux Mint...2GB RAM (4GB recommended for a comfortable usage). 20GB of disk space (100GB recommended).
I'm running Mint Cinnamon 21.1 on a 500GB SSD and have 16GB of Ram in my Tower and 4GB of Ram on a 500GB SSD in my Laptop...both are 64bit too and I wouldn't want specs any lower.
t2622.gif

I use External HDDs and an SSD to backup files and System Images.
m1212.gif

I also have a newer desktop a little more robust:
AMD 486 1GHz 64 bit
512MB RAM
30 &130Gb HD
offline, but does have CD/DVD & USB
Try Bionic Puppy or antiX; as for the other one you can try to have fun with TinyCore, reserve that masochistic torture for later... when you don't know what to do with your time.