Bash scripting

tusara

Reaction score
Credits
Hello, everyone!
I'm very new to Linux and Bash.

The idea is that I want to implement a script that will scan the specified directory every 30 seconds for new files and other directories and, if they appear in the specified directory, will display the file/directory names in the console. It lacks the deletion of temporary files, but that's not so important.

But the problem is that this script does not output anything. What have I done wrong?

Here's the code:
code.png

(sorry, I couldn't find how to paste the code properly)

9FRZtmn.png

That's how you insert code.

Moving this to Command Line where scripting inquiries are dealt with.

Welcome to linux.org

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

Hello, everyone!
I'm very new to Linux and Bash.

The idea is that I want to implement a script that will scan the specified directory every 30 seconds for new files and other directories and, if they appear in the specified directory, will display the file/directory names in the console. It lacks the deletion of temporary files, but that's not so important.

But the problem is that this script does not output anything. What have I done wrong?

Here's the code:
View attachment 17380
(sorry, I couldn't find how to paste the code properly)
Perhaps run it through shellcheck here: https://www.shellcheck.net/, to see what it says.

I'm a bit late to the party here, I'm not sure exactly what's going wrong.
It seems to me that you aught to have two lists of files.
in your infinite while loop:
  • use find to get a list of current files/directories
  • check to see if there is a previous-list:
- if a previous-list exists, grep through the current list and output any lines that are NOT in the previous list.
  • copy the current list to previous-list
  • sleep for 30 seconds, or however long.

The first time through your loop, it will create the "current" list.
- The "previous" list won't exist. so the grep will just be skipped