cant resize partition

koklimena

Reaction score
Credits
so i am new to kali linux and im taking a course on cybersecurity so im kinda new on linux and everything , the problem im having is that the apps and everything i install from the apt-get command is installed to a partition that for some reason has limited storage , 10gb to be exact , now my problem is that i cant resize that partition because it doesnt allow for more than 10gb , i have another partition that is 480gb but i cant seem to find a way , lets say to give some of those 480gb to the other partition (10gb one)

Attachments

• Screenshot from 2023-12-12 10-12-12.png
    Screenshot from 2023-12-12 10-12-12.png
    150.7 KB · Views: 94
  • Screenshot from 2023-12-12 10-12-22.png
    Screenshot from 2023-12-12 10-12-22.png
    95.9 KB · Views: 82

if anyone can help with the problem i can provide more info.
thanks in advance.

It sounds like Kali is installed on partition 5.
Code:
+-------------+--------------+--------------+---------------+
| partition 5 | partition 6  | partition 7  | partition 8   |
|             |              |              |               |
|  10G        |  1G          | 2G           |  462G         |

In that case it's possible to enlarge partition 5 by adding space to the right of it with a partitioning tool such as Gparted. One way to do this is to boot up a live disk with the Gparted program on it and make the adjusments.

Gparted is available on it's own bootdisk from here: https://gparted.org/livecd.php, where there is also documentation on the website about how to proceed.

The partitions 6, 7 and 8 would have their data lost in a new partitioning, so if you have data you wish to save, then it would need to be backed it up. Gparted on their website itself advises to take a whole image or partition image backup.

If however, there is nothing to back up, you can simply re-partition the disk to more amenable sizes and re-install the distro and start again.