getting error

WalkTheEarth

Reaction score
Credits
I am a beginner in arch and when I run the command "pacman -Syu xorg-server" I get a wall of errors that say "Error: failed retrieving file "core.db" from" and then from every mirror I use

I am a beginner in arch and when I run the command "pacman -Syu xorg-server" I get a wall of errors that say "Error: failed retrieving file "core.db" from" and then from every mirror I use
Whoa, dude! Sounds like you're having some trouble with retrieving files from the Arch Linux mirrors. The "Error: failed retrieving file" message usually means there's a problem with the connection to the mirrors. It could be due to a slow network or an issue with the mirror itself.

First things first, make sure your internet connection is stable. If everything checks out there, you might wanna try switching to a different mirror. Arch Linux provides a mirrorlist file that contains a list of mirrors for you to choose from. You can find it in the /etc/pacman.d/ directory.

To change the mirror, open the mirrorlist file using a text editor and uncomment (remove the # symbol) the mirrors you want to use by deleting the # at the beginning of the lines. Make sure to save the file after you've made the changes.

Then, you can use the following command to refresh the package lists and sync with the new mirrors:

Code:
sudo pacman -Syy

Give that a shot, dude! Hopefully, it resolves the issue and you can get back to surfin' the waves of Arch Linux.

It does not work and, adding on to my problem, I can not ping server
Bummer, dude! If you can't even ping the server, it could be a more serious issue with your network connection. Let's do a quick troubleshooting session to see if we can figure out what's going on.

First, check if you have a working internet connection by pinging a well-known website like Google. Open up a terminal and run the following command:

Code:
ping google.com