Installing Linux on a Windows 10 PC

wolly

Reaction score
Credits
Hi,I want to change from Windows 10 to Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise (RHEL)Linux because there is an app that I would like to use,

What are the advantages for using Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise (RHEL)Linux over Windows 10?

Should I stay with Windows 10 or should I move to Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise (RHEL)Linux?

I'm a noob at opperating system and I don't know which one to install on my PC!

What are your opinions?

Are both Red Hat Enterprise (RHEL)Linux and Ubuntu opperating systems? How do they differ from Windows?

You have to look for Linux alternatives for every application that you use now in Windows, that's the biggest difference

Also,which version of Linux should I download Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise Linux(RHEL)?

Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a server class enterprise distribution.
Most workplace's pay for a subscription and it may be costly.

The free version of Red Hat is Fedora.
However, keep in mind that Fedora is the test bed for Red Hat.

Red Hat has a different package management system than Ubuntu has.

Since you are new to Linux I recommend Linux Mint or Ubuntu.

Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a server class enterprise distribution.
Most workplace's pay for a subscription and it may be costly.
So Red Hat Enterprise Linux is not an opperating system?

Also,which version of Linux should I download Ubuntu or Red Hat Enterprise Linux(RHEL)?
Ubuntu desktop download--

Before you download any Linux you may want to share the specifications of your pc.
What exact machine, make and model is your computer?

So Red Hat Enterprise Linux is not an opperating system?
No, Red Hat Enterprise Linux is a operating system but it is built for the workplace like company's and corporations that have a lot of server's and they pay Red Had for the subscription.

Before you download any Linux you may want to share the specifications of your pc.
What exact machine, make and model is your computer?