laptop recommendations?

Reaction score
Credits
I'm still new to Linux but I'm getting stuff figured out. I am considering getting a new laptop but I'm unsure of which one of what kind would be the best fit for Linux, Linux terminal, Fedora, etc... I'm assuming I might need one with a lot of RAM but I'm unsure I'm not a big tech person at all. Any ideas?

I've had good experiences with Lenovo, Dell and HP. You could also have a look at System76 laptops.

Minimal for decent performance, IME --

Core2Duo or better running as close to three gigs as one can get, or better
8 GB RAM
Any size 3.5" SSD
Intel graphics

ebay has many good used ones I have purchased four and had not a problem, yet
Dell Latitudes

Hi & welcome to Linux.org-:)

I recommend a laptop with at least 4 GB of RAM.

I've been running Linux operating systems for 13 years plus and I've experienced that it can be very hard to install the drivers for Nvidia GPU's. You may want to purchase a laptop with Intel, AMD, or other type of graphics for ease of use if you plan to install Fedora.

Fedora is a Red Hat based Linux distro and it's the test bed for Red Hat Enterprise Linux. Something to think about.

If your new to Linux Ubuntu, Linux Mint or Debian are fairly easy to run. Linux Mint is great for newbies and it only takes about 15 minutes to install.

Hardware Compatability

I'm still new to Linux but I'm getting stuff figured out. I am considering getting a new laptop but I'm unsure of which one of what kind would be the best fit for Linux, Linux terminal, Fedora, etc... I'm assuming I might need one with a lot of RAM but I'm unsure I'm not a big tech person at all. Any ideas?
I have always had good linux installs on Lenovo thinkpad 8 Gbs ram is plenty for ordinary stuff. I buy all my thinkpads refurbished. Save alot of money. Or course system 76 is a good choice also but they are a bit pricey.
Good luck in your search.