locker folders

Rayle59

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Credits
37
Hi
i want to copie any folder from my laptop to my handy. it works with unlocked folders but not with locked folders.
i opened the folder as an operator and chanched the access rights, but it is also mit working.
has anybody another idea.
thank you
 


OP
R

Rayle59

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Credits
37
Hi
i want to copie any folder from my laptop to my handy. it works with unlocked folders but not with locked folders.
i opened the folder as an operator and chanched the access rights, but it is also mit working.
has anybody another idea.
thank you
i have Linux mint
 

kc1di

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 14, 2021
Messages
1,039
Reaction score
881
Credits
7,402
I'm not exactly sure what you mean by locked folder. Is it a folder that is owned by root? if so you can copy it by issueing this command in a terminal to open Nemo (assume your using cinnamon desktop. If you are using a different desktop then sub the correct file manager for nemo.)
Code:
pkexec nemo
 
OP
R

Rayle59

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Credits
37
Thank you for your answer. Yes this folder is owned by root , i could move it from my second disk who is also owned by root to the desktop but not from there to my
handy. I tried first to copy some folder from my second disc directely to my handy but this didnt worked.
 

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
499
Reaction score
406
Credits
6,114
Your, err "handy" (I think there's a translation error from Google) does not have write permissions. This could be it is "owned" by root, that it is missing the 'w' permission, or was mounted with -ro (read-only). I do not know what "handy" is (translated from?), but I would guess you mean a separate device. So, assuming it's not read-only, just do sudo chmod a+rwx /path/to/handy/ for now as a quick fix. It's ill-advised long-term, but that's easiest for now. This is just so you can copy the data to your "handy" for now. Not permanent solution. Just until you can get help in your own language to set user access up correctly.
 
OP
R

Rayle59

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Credits
37
thank you for your answer .
in the meantime i format my disk.
Linux mint cannot mounted it now but i try to get it properly mounten. my Handy is a Samsung S7
 

Fanboi

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2021
Messages
499
Reaction score
406
Credits
6,114
Ah...
thank you for your answer .
in the meantime i format my disk.
Linux mint cannot mounted it now but i try to get it properly mounten. my Handy is a Samsung S7
... Okay. The problem is not Mint. It is not the Android device (Samsung) either. It is the MTPFS software (libmtp). I actually blame the MTP protocol, though. MTP is dog poo that was eaten by another dog and crapped out again. It is unstable and slow. Solution: use ADB. Developer tools for Android. Not so scary, I promise. Now then, I'm going to call your device/handy "Android" to make this feel generic/agnostic. So when I say "Android", I mean any device, your Samsung as well.

- Disconnect Android from PC
- Install adb on PC: apt-get update && apt-get install adb android-tools-adb --install-recommends -y.
- Allow "developer mode" on Android. It's a little different for each device. Mostly, settings --> about/info/something --> maybe another item --> tap build number or OS Version 5-7 times. See in this video for your Samsung S7
- Enable "USB Debugging" on Android.settings --> Developer Options --> USB Debugging (turn on)
- Run adb devices in terminal to start adb daemon.
- Connect Android to PC. Android asks to give USB permission now. Say yes to USB debugging and everything else. If the option let's you "trust" the USB connection permanently, do so.
- Again, run adb devices in terminal. This time it will show the Android name (Samsung) or "xxxx:xxxx" (vendorID : productID) number if it works.
- Okay, you're ready.

Using ADB: The only commands you need to know are push, pull, and ls.
Let's just learn by example:
Code:
// I want to copy "song.mp3" to my Android. Luckily, I have the path since I use TotalCommander on my Android, but most people do not.

// So let's use adb's ls command to "explore".
adb ls
// You'll see many directories. Usually, from Android 7 up, /storage/ is where all storage is. /storage/xxxx-xxxx is for each SD Car or USB device. /storage/emulated/X (where X is 0 to F) is for internal. So "Music" is probably /storage/emulated/0/Music/ on most.
// However, you may have to use a little intuition. You can use <Tab> key auto-completion, eg:
// adb ls /storage/ <Press Tab> will show you something like "self, emulated, 18FC-12AD".
// adb ls /storage/emulated/ <Press Tab> will show you something like "0, 1"
// adb ls /storage/emulated/0/ <Press Tab> will show you something like "Alarms, Music, Pictures, Porn, DCIM"
// The above will help you find the remote path (remember this).

// So, now I can copy it:
adb push /home/user/song.mp3 /storage/emulated/0/Music/
// Pretty easy!

// Okay, but I want to copy a picture, lolcat.jpg, from my Android to my PC

// Use adb ls again. Spoiler: It's probably in /storage/emulated/0/Download/
adb pull /storage/emulated/0/Download/lolcat.jpg /home/user/Pictures/
// Pretty easy!

Wait... Something felt different...
adb push /path/on/PC/file /path/on/Android/file
adb pull /path/on/Android/file /path/on/PC/file
The order for push and pull are different! Yes, relative to what is being done ;)

Now, in the immortal words of Forrest Gump, "... And that's all I have to say about that."

You'll find loads of other great functions like syncing etc. if you like. Scripting a GUI with Zenity is trivial (a mate of mine did, I shall ask him if he ever published it. If not, maybe I can persuade him to get around to it in the next decade) if one is not available. It probably is, I'm just too comfy with the CLI to care.
Protip: Install TotalCommander from the Google Play Store on your Android since it shows you the full paths and this saves time until you memorise all the locations you use.

Good luck!
-J
 
Last edited:
OP
R

Rayle59

New Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Credits
37
thank you for your reply.
in the meantime i put the disc out and format it with another windows Laptop.
Now everything is working.i can put any
folder on this disk whithout open it as an operator
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Top