Do you use a screensaver?

• Total voters

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Reaction score
Credits
With CRT's mostly relegated to the junk heap, and there's no phosphors in modern screens, do you still still use a screensaver?

I suppose you can also add a comment about why you do or do not.

I just blank the screen on inactivity largely save a tiny amount of energy and to keep whatever room darker.

Some distros have cool screensavers so if a distro I'm using has cool screensavers I'll use them for that reason.

I do on the desktop, but not on any of the laptops [ saves some battery life ]

I don't use a screensaver, my screen just goes black after a few minutes of inactivity.

Have not used a Screen Saver for a few years not don't see the need for it with led displays.

Some distros have cool screensavers so if a distro I'm using has cool screensavers I'll use them for that reason.

Got an example? I haven't kept up on 'em, so I have zero knowledge in this department.

Lubuntu has cool screensavers.
PCLinuxOS has cool screensavers.
SparkyLinux has cool screensavers.

Not many distros offer them anymore.
You can download and install them though.

Lubuntu has cool screensavers.

Oh, I've tested all of those. It must be me (that seems the most likely) as I didn't find any of them all that interesting. But, I have seen all of 'em!

I don't test them every day. I test them once and then test them again only if they're updated in the manifest.

Just plain black screen. I do not turn my PCs off and I prefer it not to have dancing lights lighting up the room all night.

Actually, normally I also turn my monitors off, but of course this new fangled Display Port sucks terribly. When you turn the monitor off, the PC registers this and migrates any applications you have running on that specific monitor and moves them to a different monitor.

Hence, I use black screens.

Yeah, thanks for that. :(