Sharing home directory among multiple distro

A

areeda

Hi All,

I'm a developer who needs to test my code on multiple distribution. Right now the tests run on Scientific Linux 6 & 7 (RHEL derivative), Debian 7 (soon 8), and Ubuntu 12.04 and 14.04. Plus I sometimes get reports it doesn't build on distros I never heard of.

I wonder if it's wise to share a single home directory. Multiple systems will be running at one time, some bare metal, some VMs.

I'm worried about all the configurations and state that apps store in $HOME.

I suppose to be safe I can put all my stuff in a subdirectory of ${HOME} and share that but I wonder if anyone has tried this and can confirm it works or it doesn't.

Thanks,
Joe

As you said there are plenty of configuration files that will be shared in a single /home setup. I have used shared /home before but some settings were overritten. The best solution would be one /home but multiple usernames.

Thanks Ryan,

I'm a bit confused exactly what you're suggesting. When you say multiple usernames, do mean they each have different uid/gid ie. separate accounts? I don't see any advantage to different names but same id's.

What I'm looking for is having program sources, scripts, test data, yada yada available on all the systems without copying.

Based on what you said about settings getting overwritten suggest an approach where /home/joe is on a local disk but all the shared stuff is in a shared directory. All are owned by one account with the same uid/gid.

Thanks,
Joe

multiple usernames (accounts) would lead to /home/userA, /home/userB, /home/userC, and so on allowing for one partition on the disk while not allowing settings to be overritten. IE /home/ubuntuser, /home/fedorauser, /home/opensuseuser etc. You could create a /home/data directory and simply link the contents to each home directory making sure to set the permissions correctly. (read/write/execute for everyone, owning account users)