Penguin Auth logs

MrMungo

Reaction score
Credits
So im very new to linux and im trying to find my auth.log or whatever the equivalent would be in penguin i googled it and basically they tell me to go /var/logs/auth.logs but nothing relevant to logs is in logs but there is a private dir i cant get into atm even with sudo. i am the only user and the admin so i dont know why i wouldnt be able to get into it. ive checked users with the "who -a" command and i only see 3 things, system boot, run level 5, and console so i have no idea

G'day MrMungo, Welcome to Linux.org

Better give us some detail

Which Linux are you running ?.....eg linux mint cinnamon...21.2 version..

Seeing you are 'very new' to Linux, may I ask why you wish to find that particular log ?

I can only assume you mean system logs ?

The auth.log file contains information on successful and unsuccessful login attempts, as well as information on other security-related events.

If you are that new, be careful where you go...and especially do not alter things or delete them.....That sort of activity is guaranteed to break your system.....

Having at least 1 Timeshift snapshot to go back to is an absolute necessity

Tell us more please.

PS. If you need help setting up Timeshift, we can do that with you.

Last edited:
G'day MrMungo, Welcome to Linux.org

Better give us some detail

Which Linux are you running ?.....eg linux mint cinnamon...21.2 version..

Seeing you are 'very new' to Linux, may I ask why you wish to find that particular log ?

I can only assume you mean system logs ?

The auth.log file contains information on successful and unsuccessful login attempts, as well as information on other security-related events.

If you are that new, be careful where you go...and especially do not alter things or delete them.....That sort of activity is guaranteed to break your system.....

Having at least 1 Timeshift snapshot to go back to is an absolute necessity

Tell us more please.